PDA

View Full Version : lotus



3doubleyous
07-02-2012, 09:11 PM
What is wrong with lotus server?

Have been timed outed all day and can't get on with any work on any of my websites.

This is unacceptable.

Jack

m8internet
08-02-2012, 09:34 AM
What sort of time interval was affected?

See :
http://www.webhost.uk.net/forums/showthread.php?403
Submit a Support Ticket to WebHost UK and copy the Server Loads into the above thread

WebHost have reported all kinds of issues with this server
The latest attempt to resolve the issue was to perform the daily backup over the weekend
That in itself didn't make sense!

3doubleyous
08-02-2012, 10:31 AM
Was all day on and off really slow.

have noticed the server has been much slower over the last couple of month.

Maybe its time to upgrade the server or split the accounts onto more servers to reduce the load...

Jack

ps Cant get onto that page you linked, says I don't have correct permissions

m8internet
08-02-2012, 01:33 PM
ps Cant get onto that page you linked, says I don't have correct permissions
You probably don't have a full membership account, just basic access
As an account holder request full access by submitting a Support Ticket to WebHost UK

Try this link instead (as I cut some of the code out) :
http://www.webhost.uk.net/forums/showthread.php?403-Lotus-server-loads

Do you have a single account with WebHost UK, or are you a reseller?

I have to agree though, the performance on Lotus server is shockingly erratic
The reasons given are just inconsistent and do not provide any solution in the long term
I have already had to move about 20% of my customers to other servers and/or providers

m8internet
08-02-2012, 01:34 PM
You probably don't have a full membership account, just basic access
As an account holder request full access by submitting a Support Ticket to WebHost UK
See :
http://www.webhost.uk.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?18-Notice

3doubleyous
08-02-2012, 02:04 PM
Do you have a single account with WebHost UK, or are you a reseller?



Got a reseller account.

m8internet
08-02-2012, 05:08 PM
Go to this thread and post Lotus response as and when you are also affected :
http://www.webhost.uk.net/forums/showthread.php?403-Lotus-server-loads

3doubleyous
09-02-2012, 02:35 PM
Still cant get onto thread.

2012-02-09 14:30:24 Lotus CRITICAL - load average: 17.33, 12.16, 11.27

Been down for about 30mins now

m8internet
09-02-2012, 11:15 PM
Been down for about 30mins now
Submit a Support Ticket every time
I suggest you use a subject so that you can update the ticket every time your customers report downtime
Equally, post the tracert to the server (within the ticket)

However the monitor I have for the server does not show any downtime

m8internet
12-03-2012, 05:24 PM
What is going on with the Lotus Server?
Shows only high load, but there are serious issues with php files

This first occured on Sunday 11 March about 18:20 and wasn't fully resolved until just over 5 hours later
It then reoccured at 16:50
Both times without any reason or apology
It's probably not classed as downtime (by WebhostUK Limited), but if a visitor cannot view a website...

Anyone else?

rogerd
12-03-2012, 05:35 PM
Hi m8internet,

I'm also waiting for the server to be resurrected. Permissions on a number of files on different sites have changed overnight so I assume there has been some serious issue with Lotus.

All my trouble sites are PHP and MySql based if thats any clue.

Pretty worried at the moment.

m8internet
12-03-2012, 05:41 PM
There were two issues yesterday
The first was a HTTP Connection Refusal
After this was corrected, this caused the php permissions error
I started fixing this for each customer as they reported it, there was NO response from WebhostUK Limited
They advised it was the visitors browser!
I then pointed out it was ALL visitors...

The latest reply advises there is a permanent error and it will be fixed overnight or weekend
I can put 1p on knowing which it will be...

rogerd
12-03-2012, 09:25 PM
THIS BEATS EVERY EXPERIENCE I'VE EVER HAD IN HOSTING

I still have four sites down and customers screaming and after hours of little result a "new" tech just come on shift I imagine tells me my site is working. Which site?

None of them are working so as well as replying to the ticket I opened an earlier ticket with Natasha Cooper who I think is customer service as earlier she kindly assigned a tech to solve the problems.

Five minutes later the ticket to her has been closed and my main site trouble ticket and history HAS BEEN DELETED !!

So now I have been left with sites down and nothing being done about it because my ticket no longer exists.

Fabulous company this isn't it !

m8internet
12-03-2012, 09:54 PM
I have had various results
I view mine it is up, but another is down
Start on that, then it is fine, but then find another is down

I have already started negotiations with another provider...
I know you can't PM me and I really don't want to post the name of the other provider, but contact me (my website is below) and I will happily discuss

m8internet
12-03-2012, 10:21 PM
I rarely discuss matters with Natasha, I tend to get Alex Shaw or George Shaw (conincidence?) and the Level 2 Technical Support

Rumour that WebhostUK Limited is being forced into liquidation, see Companies House
I can't get anyone from WebhostUK Limited to confirm or deny this
The blog hasn't been updated since 2011, and I can't find any news items

rogerd
12-03-2012, 10:25 PM
Thanks.

I have just had an email to say all my sites are working.

I've just checked and indeed they are but for how long and what happened. this experience has been another valuable lesson.

I already have another provider where I host a number of other domains. WebhostUk account was to spread my list and so give me another platform in case one of them let me down(??).

As a last resort I may try another server before giving up entirely.

If I still have problems I may be grateful to contact you later.

m8internet
13-03-2012, 01:15 AM
I have now found another issue
On viewing AWStats and there is NO data for 12 March, and 11 March looks incomplete
I have had WebHostUK add the Update Now button
However before using it, the data was up to 11 March (between 11:00 and 13:00, but using the Update Now hasn't made any difference

This is how I log visits for google AdWords, so not sure how I can record the visits for 11 March onwards
Or have there really been NO visitors?!?

m8internet
13-03-2012, 10:14 AM
I have now submitted my downtime claim
I used the stats from WHM, which clearly show NO visitors between 10 March 23:30 and 11 March 21:00

3doubleyous
13-03-2012, 12:27 PM
Had some downtime 11th March at 1800.

Sites have been very slow recently.

rogerd
14-03-2012, 08:47 PM
I have now found another issue
On viewing AWStats and there is NO data for 12 March, and 11 March looks incomplete
I have had WebHostUK add the Update Now button
However before using it, the data was up to 11 March (between 11:00 and 13:00, but using the Update Now hasn't made any difference


Same here except I get an error when using the "update now", so.....

submitted a ticket with a screenshot of the error.
This was followed by a reply saying its fixed now.
I clear my browser cache to be sure, try the "update now" and still get the error.
Update the ticket saying its still not working and guess what the reply is.....

"The issue has been fixed and we've got the confirmation from other clients the issue has been resolved. "

How are you supposed to answer that?

PS the error is:
AWStats did not find any valid log lines that match your LogFormat parameter, in the 50th first non commented lines read of your log.
Your log file /usr/local/apache/domlogs/xxxxxx.co.uk must have a bad format or LogFormat parameter setup does not match this format.

Your AWStats LogFormat parameter is: 1
This means each line in your web server log file need to have "combined log format" like this:
111.22.33.44 - - [10/Jan/2001:02:14:14 +0200] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 200 1234 "http://www.fromserver.com/from.htm" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.01; Windows NT 5.0)"

And this is an example of records AWStats found in your log file (the record number 50 in your log):
combined


Setup ('/home/xxxxxxx/tmp/awstats/awstats.xxxxxxx.co.uk.conf' file, web server or permissions) may be wrong.
Check config file, permissions and AWStats documentation (in 'docs' directory).

rogerd
14-03-2012, 10:20 PM
This really has to be one of the WORST companies I have had the misfortune to deal with.

m8internet
15-03-2012, 05:26 PM
The AWStats might be my fault, as I asked them to add it (as there was a lag of between 6 and 18 hours in the stats)
It worked for a few days
There server hasn't been right since

I pointed out it worked on my previous server, without any problems
I also advised that once the Update Now was put into place that the cronjob had to be disabled
The instructions on AWStats CLEARLY state you can have one or the other, but it looks like WebhostUK decided to ignore my advice

Another issue I noticed today is the disc usage
It just looks completely incorrect now
Sadly I don't know how long this issue has existed

m8internet
16-03-2012, 09:33 AM
An old problem and issue has now appeared, I overlooked it

The disc usage information is incorrect, yet again
As is typical, the first response from Support obviously didn't even look or investigate the issue
The second response advises the issue will be corrected between 01:00 and 02:00, in order to reduce the load on the server

Load on the server?
What there is actually concern about that?

m8internet
16-03-2012, 10:10 AM
Finally, AT LONG LAST, a legitimate reason for the downtime
A full admission
Completely acceptable
However the level of compensation offered is really pathetic

2 days downtime, so 2 days added to my renewal
I would personally preferred a credit applied to my account, you can't have everything

So if you are on the Lotus Server, get your compensation claim in
Ref: 120313-01

m8internet
16-03-2012, 11:45 AM
However the level of compensation offered is really pathetic
It's now been trebled from what was originally offered, much better

3doubleyous
17-03-2012, 07:07 PM
its down again at the moment

m8internet
21-03-2012, 01:48 AM
its down again at the moment
There is nothing showing in any of the server stats I have, no gaps at all on 17 March

3doubleyous
21-03-2012, 09:10 AM
Had a ping from uptime robot saying it was down

m8internet
21-03-2012, 10:09 AM
External pings tend to be unreliable and should only be used as an indication
Also, make sure they are configured for both IP and http (so therefore four in total)
If all four report that a server is down then take the matter further

If you receive a report, perform a ping and tracert from your local machine
If this gives no results to three domain names on your account, open a support ticket